How to USB forced upgrade Freesat Box.

V8 NOVA / V8 HONOR / V8 PRO2
------------------------------------------------------------------------
V8 GOLDEN / V8 SUPER
------------------------------------------------------------------------
V8 COMBO / V8 PRO

Moderators: admin, GTMedia Team

Post Reply
DLP
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 9:22 am

Re: How to USB forced upgrade Freesat Box.

Post by DLP » Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:44 am

Tried this on a GTMedia V8Pro2.
It does not work for me

DLP
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 9:22 am

Re: How to USB forced upgrade Freesat Box.

Post by DLP » Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:59 am

For which firmware versions does this work?

User avatar
cpr43
网站管理员
Posts: 3647
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 1:41 pm

Re: How to USB forced upgrade Freesat Box.

Post by cpr43 » Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:59 pm

Rename the firmware to flash , put it on USB, load to your box. Turn unit ON while keep pressing MENU key in your Remote Control until you see upgrading message, wait until finished.
Use Search Before Posting- Post in the Right Section- Do Not Spam the Board- Do Not make Hidden Links Public- Respect other Members- ALWAYS remember... Follow Forum Rule here: https://www.freesat.cn/forum/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=10263s

DLP
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 9:22 am

Re: How to USB forced upgrade Freesat Box.

Post by DLP » Thu Sep 12, 2019 6:03 am

I do all this.
Probably this message appears after the device is fully loaded firmware.
Now may device does not now fully boot.
Reaches message on screen "0003" then the device turns off.
I was hoping this option will help me solve the problem ...

User avatar
Feralkiwi
网站管理员
Posts: 3858
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 6:51 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: How to USB forced upgrade Freesat Box.

Post by Feralkiwi » Thu Sep 12, 2019 8:31 pm

Do you see a message on the TV after you power on while repeat pressing the menu button that says "USB Upgade, Do not power off"

If you do not see this then the USB flash.bin is not working.
You need to use a fat32 USB less than 32Gb.
Use the .bin file from inside the .zip folder to rename as flash.bin.

Owen
Dishes; 5x3m, 2.4m, 2.1m, 1.8m and 4.1m, 10+ ku, 2 movers, USARLS. Skybox F5, F5s, V6, V8. V8 Combo, Pro, V8 Golden, Nova V8Pro2, GTC, Super.V7HDs, Combo and V7s V7Plus Finder and Finder-Meter. Sats 100.5E to 177W. I'm a Sat hobbyist who helps out.

DLP
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 9:22 am

Re: How to USB forced upgrade Freesat Box.

Post by DLP » Fri Sep 13, 2019 7:06 am

Thank you very much.

I took another flash drive and it worked.
Refresh GTMedia V8 PRO2 successful

Post Reply