Uncomfortable remote control

V8 UHD / V8X
------------------------------------------------------------------------
V8 NOVA / V8 HONOR / V8 PRO2
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Moderators: admin, GTMedia Team

Post Reply
soenardi
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 12:56 am

Uncomfortable remote control

Post by soenardi »

Since the first time I had a GT Media receiver product, V8 Pro2, the remote was often pressed incorrectly. It turns out that this remote problem is repeated on the V8 UHD, the design of the OK button in the middle with a small size and one level with other navigation buttons often causes a wrong push, apart from the uncomfortable design, the rubber material of the remote button is also not good, the level of ease in pressing the remote button is also less comfortable, sometimes you have to do it many times and even then you often miss another button. Hoping that the future GT Media product remote will be better than the current one.

VELECTRONICS
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 5:43 pm

Re: Uncomfortable remote control

Post by VELECTRONICS »

soenardi wrote:
Wed Mar 17, 2021 2:38 am
Since the first time I had a GT Media receiver product, V8 Pro2, the remote was often pressed incorrectly. It turns out that this remote problem is repeated on the V8 UHD, the design of the OK button in the middle with a small size and one level with other navigation buttons often causes a wrong push, apart from the uncomfortable design, the rubber material of the remote button is also not good, the level of ease in pressing the remote button is also less comfortable, sometimes you have to do it many times and even then you often miss another button. Hoping that the future GT Media product remote will be better than the current one.
Hello technical team pls tell the solution for remote control unit for V8 series. I have to press botton many times, the IR sensor not responding sometimes and slow response.

Thanks.
Vels.

STRETCH
Posts: 1457
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 2:31 pm
Location: West Midlands UK

Re: Uncomfortable remote control

Post by STRETCH »

You could use the remote from the V8X receiver on you V8UHD, i also use it on my V8 Turbo.
It fits nice in the palm of my hand, between thumb and fingers, so i can use the fore finger on the keys.

Den

User avatar
Feralkiwi
网站管理员
Posts: 5477
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 6:51 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Uncomfortable remote control

Post by Feralkiwi »

VELECTRONICS wrote:
Sat Apr 17, 2021 7:59 am
Hello technical team pls tell the solution for remote control unit for V8 series. I have to press botton many times, the IR sensor not responding sometimes and slow response.

Thanks.
Vels.
Many of the GT Media units have a front panel that is too dark so the remote is missed often.
I have made holes in the front panel of many of my units to allow the IR sensor to "See" better.
Also if your set top box is higher than your remote, up on a shelf, the IR sensor is part blocked by the bottom of the box.
Try tilting the box forward so it looks down at you.

The new GTCombo uses a bluetooth remote, so these issue do not occur.
Sadly that means I can not use a learning remote to copy the GTCombo remote as I do for the other boxes.
My best remote is still the old Skybox F5s remote that worked on all GT Media units until the new GTCombo.

Owen
Dishes; 3x3m, 2.4m and 4.1m, 10+ ku, 2 movers, USARLS. V8 Combo, Pro, V8 Golden, Nova V8Pro2, GTC, Super.V7HDs, Combo and V7s V7Plus Finder, Finder-Meter V8X / UHD V7Pro GTCombo. Sats 100.5E to 177W. I'm a Sat hobbyist who helps out.

User avatar
alex.c
网站管理员
Posts: 1268
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2020 8:01 am

Re: Uncomfortable remote control

Post by alex.c »

Feralkiwi wrote:
Sat Apr 17, 2021 9:37 pm
VELECTRONICS wrote:
Sat Apr 17, 2021 7:59 am
Hello technical team pls tell the solution for remote control unit for V8 series. I have to press botton many times, the IR sensor not responding sometimes and slow response.

Thanks.
Vels.
Many of the GT Media units have a front panel that is too dark so the remote is missed often.
I have made holes in the front panel of many of my units to allow the IR sensor to "See" better.
Also if your set top box is higher than your remote, up on a shelf, the IR sensor is part blocked by the bottom of the box.
Try tilting the box forward so it looks down at you.

The new GTCombo uses a bluetooth remote, so these issue do not occur.
Sadly that means I can not use a learning remote to copy the GTCombo remote as I do for the other boxes.
My best remote is still the old Skybox F5s remote that worked on all GT Media units until the new GTCombo.

Owen
The remote of GT Combo is a IR/BT dual remote.
That means if you disconnect the Bluetooth connection, the remote will send the IR signal.
You can disconnect the Bluetooth connection on GT combo.

User avatar
Feralkiwi
网站管理员
Posts: 5477
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 6:51 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Uncomfortable remote control

Post by Feralkiwi »

alex.c wrote:
Mon Apr 19, 2021 2:23 am
The remote of GT Combo is a IR/BT dual remote.
That means if you disconnect the Bluetooth connection, the remote will send the IR signal.
You can disconnect the Bluetooth connection on GT combo.
Thanks for that.
I had wondered if there was still a IR option on the GTCombo.

Owen
Dishes; 3x3m, 2.4m and 4.1m, 10+ ku, 2 movers, USARLS. V8 Combo, Pro, V8 Golden, Nova V8Pro2, GTC, Super.V7HDs, Combo and V7s V7Plus Finder, Finder-Meter V8X / UHD V7Pro GTCombo. Sats 100.5E to 177W. I'm a Sat hobbyist who helps out.

VELECTRONICS
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 5:43 pm

Re: Uncomfortable remote control

Post by VELECTRONICS »

Feralkiwi wrote:
Sat Apr 17, 2021 9:37 pm
VELECTRONICS wrote:
Sat Apr 17, 2021 7:59 am
Hello technical team pls tell the solution for remote control unit for V8 series. I have to press botton many times, the IR sensor not responding sometimes and slow response.

Thanks.
Vels.
Many of the GT Media units have a front panel that is too dark so the remote is missed often.
I have made holes in the front panel of many of my units to allow the IR sensor to "See" better.
Also if your set top box is higher than your remote, up on a shelf, the IR sensor is part blocked by the bottom of the box.
Try tilting the box forward so it looks down at you.

The new GTCombo uses a bluetooth remote, so these issue do not occur.
Sadly that means I can not use a learning remote to copy the GTCombo remote as I do for the other boxes.
My best remote is still the old Skybox F5s remote that worked on all GT Media units until the new GTCombo.

Owen
Hello Feralkiwi, thank you for your remote control trick. But I can't get the Skybox F5s remote control 😀. I guess GT Media team would consider this IR block issue and rectify from the V8 series hardware unit.

User avatar
Feralkiwi
网站管理员
Posts: 5477
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 6:51 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Uncomfortable remote control

Post by Feralkiwi »

Yes later GT Media units have work better with the IR remote.
The worst unit was the V8Pro2, but after that I think they made the plastic thinner where the IR is.
I drilled a hole in the front cover in front of the IR sensor of my V8Pro2.

There are still Skybox remotes on Aliexpress.
Shop around for better shipping etc.
.
Owen
.
.

Code: Select all

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32806990571.html?spm=2114.12010614.0.0.252f63a2s2dDt7&gps-id=pcStoreJustForYou&scm=1007.23125.137358.0&scm_id=1007.23125.137358.0&scm-url=1007.23125.137358.0&pvid=4cda93bb-5a64-444a-8a8a-795d6bce638e
Dishes; 3x3m, 2.4m and 4.1m, 10+ ku, 2 movers, USARLS. V8 Combo, Pro, V8 Golden, Nova V8Pro2, GTC, Super.V7HDs, Combo and V7s V7Plus Finder, Finder-Meter V8X / UHD V7Pro GTCombo. Sats 100.5E to 177W. I'm a Sat hobbyist who helps out.

VELECTRONICS
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 5:43 pm

Re: Uncomfortable remote control

Post by VELECTRONICS »

Feralkiwi wrote:
Tue Apr 27, 2021 9:08 pm
Yes later GT Media units have work better with the IR remote.
The worst unit was the V8Pro2, but after that I think they made the plastic thinner where the IR is.
I drilled a hole in the front cover in front of the IR sensor of my V8Pro2.

There are still Skybox remotes on Aliexpress.
Shop around for better shipping etc.
.
Owen
.
.

Code: Select all

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32806990571.html?spm=2114.12010614.0.0.252f63a2s2dDt7&gps-id=pcStoreJustForYou&scm=1007.23125.137358.0&scm_id=1007.23125.137358.0&scm-url=1007.23125.137358.0&pvid=4cda93bb-5a64-444a-8a8a-795d6bce638e
That's very kind of you 👍.
Thank you.
Vels.

soenardi
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 12:56 am

Re: Uncomfortable remote control

Post by soenardi »

Finally, I bought a new remote from the online shop like in the photo. The remote is more comfortable, there is less wrong press, the buttons are more comfortable when pressed.
Attachments
IMG_20210513_013852.jpg
IMG_20210513_013852.jpg (1.15 MiB) Viewed 91 times

Post Reply