Convert Nova UserDB to V8X?

V8 NOVA / V8 HONOR / V8 PRO2/V8 UHD / V8X

Moderators: admin, GTMedia Team

droidsat

Convert Nova UserDB to V8X?

Post by droidsat »

Is it possible to convert the UserDB file from a V8 Nova to a V8x, using the DB Editor?

Feralkiwi
网站管理员

Re: Convert Nova UserDB to V8X?

Post by Feralkiwi »

It should just load anyway.
It may pay to delete the DVB-T first as the V8X does not have that.

Owen
Dishes; 3x3m, 2.4m and 4.1m, 10+ ku, 2 movers, USARLS. V8 Combo, Pro, V8 Golden, Nova V8Pro2, GTC, Super.V7HDs, Combo and V7s V7Plus Finder, Finder-Meter V8X / UHD V7Pro GT/XCombo. Sats 100.5E to 177W. I'm a Sat hobbyist who helps out.

droidsat

Post by droidsat »

Great news! Thanks for your reply!

STRETCH

Post by STRETCH »

When you do a dump from you Nova receiver, remember to rename the file to (v8X.db.bin), then you can upload the channel list to your V8X receiver, i did the same when i upgraded my V8 NOVA ORANGE to a V8X.

Den

droidsat

Post by droidsat »

That's amazing! Thanks for letting me know!

droidsat

Post by droidsat »

An update on this question: It worked pretty well, though not perfectly. As for my original question. The DBEditor cannot "save as" for a different receiver than the one selected on opening, I did try to import the V8 file as a V8x in the DBEditor to see if I could just save it again and it would be saved as a V8x file - but the answer is NO. This is not a thing. It wouldn't open the V8 file as a V8x.
The V8x did in fact open the V8 db file! So that was easy.

The file from the V8 imported successfully into the V8x. The file was renamed V8x_db.bin before importing. The only things that messed up were:

-The channel names were missing their first 2 characters.